SPJ delegates approve “one member, one vote”

Delegates to the Society of Professional Journalists’ annual convention voted today to:

— amend the bylaws to allow every member to vote in leadership elections. Currently, SPJ elects national officers through a delegate system in which chapter size determines the number of delegates eligible to vote for officers at the national convention. Other SPJ business will continue to be voted on via the delegate system.

— reject a proposal to reinstate the Helen Thomas Lifetime Achievement Award, which the SPJ board retired earlier this year after Thomas’ comments perceived as insensitive to Jews.

— reject a proposal to rescind the dues increase voted on by the board two days ago.

— adopt a resolution supporting passage of a federal shield law.

— pass by voice vote a resolution condemning the use of “illegal alien” and “illegal immigrant” in news media.


About spjmadisononline

The Society of Professional Journalists Madison Pro Chapter
This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s